HybridZ

2004r question

Guest Crossfire

Guest Crossfire

I am new to the TH 2004r...

Does it suffer from the same problem as the 700r4 ie. can not run full throttle in 4th gear without modifying the valve body?

The 200 from what i've seen is basically a 350 with an overdrive gear, the 700 gives a better first gear. Some people just prefer the 200 over the 700 but it really depends on who "built" it in my opinion because i've seen both perform well.

The 2004r is a fine trans when built correctly. It's also a nice trans choice for a Z car swap in that it's a smaller trans than the 700r4 (it fits better). The gear ratio spread is also better in my opinion, with a higher over drive ratio (.68-1 if I remember correctly) allowing for a steper rear end gear ratio (3:90 or 4:10) but reasonable engine RPM at freeway speeds.

It's my intention to run one behind a 454 BBC in my Z.

• 2 weeks later...
The 2004r is a fine trans when built correctly. It's also a nice trans choice for a Z car swap in that it's a smaller trans than the 700r4 (it fits better). The gear ratio spread is also better in my opinion' date=' with a higher over drive ratio (.68-1 if I remember correctly) allowing for a steper rear end gear ratio (3:90 or 4:10) but reasonable engine RPM at freeway speeds.

It's my intention to run one behind a 454 BBC in my Z.[/quote']

Does anyone know of a good transmission shop in San Antonio, TX... or near here... that can do a decent build of a 200-4R and swap it in place of a TH350? It needs to handle 400/400 plus an occasional 100 progressive shot of nitrous without any fuss.

Umm... and I need the best $-price-$ I can find too. I just bought this car and the seller lied through his teeth. In its present condition, I WAY overpaid and I have a lot to do to "bring it up to speed".