HybridZ

Need some input.

Before I put these on my car, I wanted to show them to you guys. I'm no engineer (well, no degree anyways), so I wanted some input from you guys. Does anyone see any problems with this design? It was conceived by a guy at a local speed shop that specializes in circle track cars and myself. Barely cost anything to make. It's a very simple design, kinda different from what I've seen, but it works excellent. 1 7/8" of total movement. The only thing I was worried about was the black pipe that holds the bushing, will it be sufficient enough for it's application? It's schedule 40 black pipe I picked up from the hardware store, with a bolt that I welded to it. Should I brace it some, kind of like the stock control arm is with reinforcement around the circumference of the bushing tube? Any input would be greatly appreciated. Hopefully you can see everything within these pics. Kind of a crappy camera.

ACA1.jpg

ACA2.jpg

Thanks,

!M!

Guest Anonymous

Looks very interesting for an adjustable front suspension lower control arm design. I would go with fine threads since they are stronger than coarse threads. Grade 8 bolts. I would be concerned with your pipe selection. A welding expert member could comment on the type of welding to be used for strength. There is definitely some higher grade pipe with thicker walls available from large machine shops or supply houses. I am impressed with your job but feel your selection of pipe and method or type of welding (heliarc, TIG ?? MIG may cut it) the bolt to the pipe needs further Research and Developement I am saving this thread!