HybridZ

Broke my R200

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

Hi Folks, I am new to the board and just got done reading EXTENSIVE previous posts on the R200 vs. R180 debate. I have a 73 240z with an LT1 from a 94 Firebird warmed over (figure 350hp 350ft-lbs). with stock Auto overdrive. So not HUGE but its all grins when u mash the pedal. While doing a nice burnout after puttin on new P215/60R15's on the rear I let up and turned a corner and heard a nice clunk clunk ping!. Car drove fine all the way home. Jacked up the rear to check it out, and the rear was LOCKED SOLID. Drained the oil and it wasn't too bad, not hot or metalic looking. Its a wee bit hard to turn but she side steps a bit more when doing those high power starts and 1-2 shifts.

MY question, I have a spare R200 laying aound. Do I change it and hope it doesn't grenade again? Weld up my new one? OR get LSD? OR get a Dana 44 carrier and do some machine work... (I am a mechanical engineer, this doesn't scare me hehe).

WILL the other R200 grenade??

Thanks all!!

Andy

I've heard they take a good beating.I haven't had troubles with mine,but i'm not making 350hp.Mine needs some work it clunks and lots of play but it takes everything i throw at it and smiles and asks for more.Figure the half shafts would go before the rear.I'm not an expert like some of these guys on here but they should handle that and then some.If i'm wrong guys let me know i think i'll be in the same place soon and will need the info anyway.

With 215 tires, you should be able to keep a decent R200 under the car. I'd give the R200 another shot. I was boiling the tires off mine (315/35ZR17) last weekend just for grins for the "out of towners", and was a bit concerned during the run, but it still works just great (and this is the same rear end I raced with). There are a lot of R200 success stories out there.