HybridZ

Newbe 240z Turbo Questions

bco6

Hey Hybrid Z,

I am a newbe to the 280zx turbo motor. I recently Purchased a 72 240z with an 83 zx turbo engine. I have spent the last few weeks searching threads. The car was originally set up to race so none of the lights were hooked up. After hooking up all the lights and driving on the road I noticed that it was fast as hell! , but the boost guage was showing 15 psi. I was warned at a local garage that this might be dangerous. It has all stock Turbo equipment, no intercooler, a very loud blowoff valve and to my knowledge stock injectors. Should i bring the boost down, and what is the best way to do so.

My performance goals is 250 HP with reliability. I studied the Ultimate Turbo guide by Drax but am wondering where to start. I am not looking for a complete rebuild, just to modify the strong stock engine.

Just purchased a 60mm TB, whats next.....intercooler? new ECU?

First thing is go buy a quality wideband. If you dont know what it is google it. Then stay away from boost until it is installed on your car and you can then verify what is going on inside that time-bomb of yours. The factory ECU will not do more than factory boost level with any precision. Start searching the ecu section of the forum for a good staand alone ecu.

There are a few other methods you can do. One is the z31 turbo harness and ecu swap. It is a mass air system and will tollerate slightly higher than stock boost far better than the L28et's computer. Also serch Nisstune. That will apply to the z31 ecu. Once you have established you have the Proper AFRs, that your timming is to factory spec AND you are not detonating. Then start getting back into the boost and keep a close eye on the wideband. You will know what to look for on the gauge because you will gave dome some of that "Tunning" resurch I spoke of earlier. This is not something to just jump into with out the knowledge of each system that controls the engine and what effect each has.