HybridZ

first time datsun owner ( my new project)

So I’m new to this whole datsun thing hell I’m new to imports all together, I have been diehard Chevy since birth. I’m also new to the forums because the domestic forums are nowhere near the same level u usually end up wasting your time to register and login, but my brother is big in the Mazda rx7 forums and he lives by them. I recently purchased a 1973 datsun 260z for $450 filled with a bunch of parts that I am going to be getting rid of to help pay for the building of the car. My original plans were to swap out the motor and put in my built 350 small block but after driving the car with the light little motor in it and feeling how well it handles I’ve decide to swap to a fuel injected turbo motor ( ka, sr. or rb) haven’t decided. looking for any insight anyone wants to throw my way, anything that looks wrong or any suggestion of swaps, good websites for parts, ANYTHING

100_0070.jpg

100_0071.jpg

100_0072.jpg

100_0073.jpg

100_0074.jpg

100_0075.jpg

100_0076.jpg

100_0077.jpg

100_0078.jpg

100_0081.jpg

100_0082.jpg

100_0083.jpg

100_0084.jpg

Well, insight number 1: If your car is a 73, then it's a 240Z, not a 260, which were only sold in 74 (in the US). Either way, your carbs are not factory original; they are Weber downdrafts, which were commonly put into 73 and 74 cars to replace the horrible factory original smog control carbs.Anyhow, enjoy the car; I'm always partial to keeping the stock inline sixes in them, although putting in a smallblock with aluminum heads and moving the battery to the back keeps the weight and handling just about the same.

It's at least a '74. Just look at the taillights. I'd say early style '74 260Z because of the thin bumpers. It's still got the N series intake manifolds and late flattop carb 3 line fuel rail, so some previous owner probably switched to the DGV's to be rid of the flattop SU's.