HybridZ

TWM Intake manifold issues

Ok I got this problem I recently bought a triple set up and everything seemed fine. I went to install the setup yesterday only to find out I got a vacuum leak I cannot seem to fix. So I pulled everything back off to have a look, I placed a couple of straight edges on the manifold to see if that was the problem, turns out it isn't straight.

Since this is my first time messing with triples and a aftermarket manifold Im going to need some advice..I mean is this the norm for triple manifolds?

So here are some pics of what im talking about, they will be larger than life so you can see what is going on. Im hoping a resurface will do the trick but Im afraid it will need so much material removed that it will no longer be able to be bolted up with the exhaust washers. So with that said i need somebody who can tell me if this can be fixed.

Big Thanks in advance

TWM001.jpg

TWM002.jpg

TWM003.jpg

TWM004.jpg

TWM005.jpg

TWM006.jpg

Edited by NismoZ

It looks to me like the front manifold is bent outward. Is the level sitting flat against the back two? If that's the case I would adjust the casting a bit. If you go that path I can give you a few pointers about working with cast aluminum.

Derek

MACHINED?

Get yourself a big belt sander, steady yourself, and lay it on gently. A reference jig helps...

Or on your layout table, rubber cement down some 80 grit sandpapaper, and start with the 'figure 8 lapping' motion, it will be flat soon enough.

Is this a new manifold you bought, or secondhand? If new, I'd simply call Gary at TWM, but without seeing the gasket face on the manifold, I can't tell what has been done to it previously.

Those manifolds are machined AFTER casting, and should be flat. I can't imagine what would do that kind of warpage short of someone taking my first suggestion with the belt sander and not being very careful... :P