HybridZ

SU carbs on L24 stioc at idle and TO lean under load

rayaapp2

So Ive been running the car on the smog machine all day... 5 times 3 asm and 2 tsi test and used the gas analyzer multiple times. I started out with pretty stioc numbers at idle 14.6:1 or so and ran my first ASM test to find that 15/50 test shows 16.98:1 and the 25/25 17.97:1 using Lambda calculations.

I started playing with the jet adjustment and was able to get the ASM test to 15/50 @ 15.43:1 and 25/25 16.07:1

Then I ran the TSI test and found that idle was now at 11.08:1 and unloaded 2500 rpm at 17.1(for what ever unloaded is worth to anyone).

So i reset the adjustments back and was able to get my idle to 14.28:1.

All I can think is that my needles are wrong or the spring over the slide is wrong. Am I way off? I could just keep going with the jet until I get to a good AFR, but I have noticed the higher the RPMs the leaner it gets under all the ASM loaded tests.

ASM is the loaded test 50% load at 15 mph and 25% load at 25 mgh for those of you who dont know. TSI is the two speed idle test. Idle and 2500 rpm in Neutral or Park.

All my AFR's were calculated using 5 and 4 gas readings and a Lambda Calculator

Smogsite Lambda calc

My head hurts so I may have missed an obvious answer.

Thanks Guys for any direction you can point me in.

Edited by rayaapp2

So Ive been running the car on the smog machine all day... 5 times 3 asm and 2 tsi test and used the gas analyzer multiple times. I started out with pretty stioc numbers at idle 14.6:1 or so and ran my first ASM test to find that 15/50 test shows 16.98:1 and the 25/25 17.97:1 using Lambda calculations.

I started playing with the jet adjustment and was able to get the ASM test to 15/50 @ 15.43:1 and 25/25 16.07:1

Then I ran the TSI test and found that idle was now at 11.08:1 and unloaded 2500 rpm at 17.1(for what ever unloaded is worth to anyone).

So i reset the adjustments back and was able to get my idle to 14.28:1.