HybridZ

Niko digital caliper measure cylinder bore of 90.5mm?

dpuma8

I am a bit confused and this is my first build ever. I recently got a Neiko digital caliper from amazon so I tried it out by measuring my pistons and cylinder bore of my block. The cylinder bore for all 6 cylinders was about 90.2mm and the cylinder itself was about 86mm. When I try to fit the cylinder into the bore, it fits snugly.

So does this sound like I need a new block or is my caliper no good according to my description? I will put up a youtube video tomorrow

Bores need to be measured with a micrometer and/or expansion gauges, while using proper technique. Most calipers cant do a good job of measuring ID. There can also be discrepancies between the ID and OD calibration of the caliper. Definitely need to be validated, and use a micrometer for critical measurements.

Also check for roundness of the bores and pistons.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jFeCpDbOpjQ

Edited by cygnusx1

Hey Dpuma8-

Tony's correct, what your saying doesn't make sense. You can't fit a cylinder into a bore. Maybe what you wrote is a typo and you meant to type piston?? Also where you measure the piston is important, because it is not the same at the top as it is at the bottom.

I would suggest taking the calipers to a machine shop with your parts and asking them to show you how to use it. Also they should have a "master" piece of some time that has a known demension that you can check and verify your caliper with.

Perhaps you are misreading your gauge, not possible to have a snug fit with a 86mm piston in a 90.2 cylinder bore.

Scott

• Like 1

Some people call pistons, cylinders. Might have something to do with the cylindrical shape? :rolleyes: Get over it. His calipers are out of whack, and he shouldn't be using them for what he's doing anyhow.

My engine has 6 cylinders, or does it have six bores...or does it really matter.

Edited by cygnusx1

Some people call pistons, cylinders.