HybridZ

Just Say No

Trevor

WOW!!! Now I like that, takes me back to those foggy foggy days in Berzerkley, If I can remember right,(and I don't remember much) mine was the same painter, but on a Volkswagen bus. The bus ran a 356SC 3 piece case Porsche with, I think, a pair of Solex downdrafts (stock for the model/year) with a Burch bundle of snakes exhaust. Yeah the pedestrians could hear me a block away, but it was too late by the time they tied in that greeeeaaat sound with that bus. After I burned up that engine off 99 in Chowchilla (great place to break down in 1967 with that bus, that furren engine, and long hair) my next act of barbarism was to buy a Lotus version of the Ford Cortina. All white, great sound, and it too, as they say, "went up in smoke"... well hell, we all did. Those two rides sounded so great I graduated from AM radio and Hank Williams to FM radio Grace Slick and the Jefferson Airplane and some other female screamer with a mike in one hand and Southern Comfort in the other, backed up by Big Brother and the Holding Company. About this time I found religion laying nude in a dark room and listening to Judy Collins' "Amazing Grace" on the head phones. I levitated about 15 feet horizontally from the floor, rotated about 360 degrees, and came down a changed man and went straight into being, well.... straight! The neat thing about experiencing epiphanies is one can then reward yourself. Having discovered the true meaning of life, I then acquired, used, and abused with great gusto The Harlot: a Red, really Red as only the Italians can do, 1971 Fiat 124 Sport Coupe . Ohhhhhhhhh, a five speed, four wheel disk power disk brakes, DOHC 1300 cc engine and a redline somewhat on the other side of 6500 or 7000 rpm. Music! But like many harlots, this one was fickle and one day she refused to come out and play with me. Yeah, I sorta like that Lincoln.

G