Help purchasing a 78 280z

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 samdyoung

samdyoung
  • LocationMichigan

Posted 17 April 2017 - 05:14 PM

Hey all,

I am new to hybridz and I was looking to get some help from those more experienced than I. I have not owned any z cars before, but I love the styling and am looking to purchase one. I hope I am not breaking any rules with this post which I have overlooked or that I do not otherwise know. I do not have a huge budget, however I do have a second car, which I will be able to drive when the z is not working (at least for the time being) so the car doesn't have to be perfect and I will make improvements over time. So with this said, I was wondering if this posting was a good deal or not. Thank you all for any insights you may have. Ps, I do not intend to turn this into a garage queen showcar, rather I plan to drive it as daily as possible.

https://chicago.crai...6081564954.html

This is the link to the posting.

#2 NewZed

NewZed
  • LocationWashington County, Oregon

Posted 17 April 2017 - 05:23 PM

Chicago salts their roads.  Even though the seller only drives it in the summer, the rust is a big warning sign.  If you can travel to pick up a car, consider checking other states, more southern or out where they use gravel, not salt.  There's a nice 78 in Kansas, talked about on classiczcars.com

#3 samdyoung

samdyoung
  • LocationMichigan

Posted 18 April 2017 - 04:34 AM

Thank you NewZed, I am not opposed to travel, I will look farther out from where I am, at cars in Kansas and such.

#4 rturbo 930

rturbo 930
  • LocationNJ

Posted 18 April 2017 - 11:53 AM

Even California cars can have rust. His location is a reason to be suspicious, but I wouldn't rule it out entirely. That said, I don't think I'd pay $4500 for a 280Z with any amount of rust. Or maybe I am out of touch with the market.