HybridZ

Help purchasing a 78 280z

samdyoung

Hey all,

I am new to hybridz and I was looking to get some help from those more experienced than I. I have not owned any z cars before, but I love the styling and am looking to purchase one. I hope I am not breaking any rules with this post which I have overlooked or that I do not otherwise know. I do not have a huge budget, however I do have a second car, which I will be able to drive when the z is not working (at least for the time being) so the car doesn't have to be perfect and I will make improvements over time. So with this said, I was wondering if this posting was a good deal or not. Thank you all for any insights you may have. Ps, I do not intend to turn this into a garage queen showcar, rather I plan to drive it as daily as possible.

https://chicago.craigslist.org/chc/cto/6081564954.html

This is the link to the posting.

Chicago salts their roads.  Even though the seller only drives it in the summer, the rust is a big warning sign.  If you can travel to pick up a car, consider checking other states, more southern or out where they use gravel, not salt.  There's a nice 78 in Kansas, talked about on classiczcars.com

Even California cars can have rust. His location is a reason to be suspicious, but I wouldn't rule it out entirely. That said, I don't think I'd pay $4500 for a 280Z with any amount of rust. Or maybe I am out of touch with the market.

FYI, My dad's 68 Charger has been driven in salt, and I don't believe it has ever left the area (NJ and MA), but it has very little rust, and has been in dry storage since about 1980-1985. If the car was taken care of, it may be in great shape, regardless of the fact it's a Chicago car.

Find out how long this guy has owned it though. He may not have driven it during winter, but previous owners might have.