HybridZ

Heat wrapping the manifold

I'm having some issues that I think are being caused by heat from the turbo/manifold, poor hot starts, melting wiring, possibly hot fuel. Has anybody wrapped the manifold? Any problems with cracking, warping, etc? I think I'm also going to wrap the intake runners and put a sleeve over the fuel rail.

Swaintech is local, but 2-3x more expensive.

I'm wrapping my manifold because I don't want to spend an extra $100 or so shipping my manifold to them and back. For $300 I think coating would be the way to go.

Plus I had a bad experience wrapping with cheap autozone crap. I was a noob and wore a Tshirt and got fibers all up my arms. Itched for days. Wear something with long sleeves.

For the fuel rail you could use that foil stuff, same for your wiring loom if its melting.

I found that the thermal blanket offered by Cool-Tec worked FAR better at keeping heat off adjacent components than the wrapping EVER did. The package sold by MSA was enough for more than the tubular header I was using, the excess would easily cover a second set, or the intake, fuel rails, whatever...

I had a wrapped turbo manifold and it just plain got hot, and was a PITA with all the fibers on it with the accompanying downside as mentioned above (plus it holds water so water coming in through hood vents over the manifold, onto the wrapping as it sat parked....soaked in got wet, mildly warm...flaky flaky flaky rusty mess when it was taken off.

I also wrapped a set of tubular headers. Similar results.

On my last go, I decided to try the blanket instead, and worked HARD to get it right up to the header/manifold flange which I could do, and still access the nuts for retorque.