HybridZ

tamo3 '72 240z project

Here is my 240z '72 Project.

I'm not a mechanic, I'm just beginner. Never, rebuild an engine, never modified a car before. Just start learning about car recently. I'm native Japanese and has access to read Japanese restore old car magazine to study what common technique. However, this forum is one of the best resource to study with skillful community. I really appreciate advice and feedback from this community.

Goal:

Restore OK body condition 240z for daily driving street usage. I have no plan to drag race, but interested in drive at circuit.

However, I want to tune Engine to N42 3.1 with P90 head ported. Would like to get a bit over 200HP. Gather re-usable parts as much as possible from junkyard to build this car within the budget.

Plans:

Break upgrade. Front Toyota Caliper, Rear 280zx caliper.

Diff upgrade. R200 with LSD.

Engine swap. Swap in 280z engine.

Auto to manual transmission conversion.

Electronic upgrade- wiring, distributor, alternator.

Interior need to fully upgrade.

Exterior. front XENON Air dam, rear BRE spoiler. ZG carbon flare will be nice.

Air Conditioner. Want to install A/C from 280z sometimes.

Coil over conversion.

Initial condition of the car.

Got '72 240z Automatic fairly good body condition. Also, 280z engine (N47 head with N42) and P90 head.

Try and error rebuilding engine at my garage on my spare time.

Try to keep 240z as running condition until 280z engine is ready to swap.

Driver's side floor has rust and hole. Passengers side is OK.

Both fender has rust on usual spot. Driver's side of fender has big dent on it.

Driver's side dog leg and rear flare hand dent on it.

Rear hatch opening has really badly rusted hole.

post-25175-015312600 1337717019_thumb.jpg

post-25175-036490000 1337717027_thumb.jpg

post-25175-005330100 1337717034_thumb.jpg

post-25175-011353300 1337717743_thumb.jpgpost-25175-042499300 1337717758_thumb.jpg