HybridZ

Why is my tach jumping???

HICKL

I have a stock (for now) 76 280. Sometimes, my tach will start jumping around erratically and basically double the actual RPM reading. I can be going down the highway and all of a sudden my tach reads 7000 rpm. I push in the clutch, kill the motor and start it back up and it fixes it. I've gotten so good at it that I don't even loose any speed. When it happens at idle, the motor lopes/lunges really bad. At higher rpm it doesn't seem to effect running. It seems to do it more often on really hot days. Any ideas?

Thanks

Jeff

Guest Anonymous

Try putting a load on the tach i.e. headlights to see if it still jumps. Hope someone elso jumps in here I am no expert, however, I installed an alternator on my boat and in the data sheet it mentioned that if the tach jumps, "just put a load on the circuit to correct".

Steve

Sounds like your pickup coil inside your distributer may be going bad, here is how to test it and find out.

Take off your distributer cap and pull the rotor off, then locate the connecter beside your distributor where the wires connect to the distributor. Disconnect the wires at the connection, using an ohm meter check the resistance of the wires coming out of the distributor, right this number down. With the ohm meter still connected use a halogen work light (or any other hot lamp) and heat up the top portion of your distributer and watch to see if your resistance changes, then after the thing is hot tap on the side of the distributer with a rubber mallet or something similar that will not damage your distributor, again watch for a change in resistance. If you see any eratic or obvious changes in resistance your pickup coil is bad and needs to be changed.