HybridZ

Instructor screws up car, who is responsible?

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

Had a friend go to VIR a few weeks ago. Met his instructor a day early at the track. Friend asked the instructor to drive friends car (95 M-3 with a boat load of cash in the motor) a few laps with friend in passengers seat to see the line. Instructor decides to show what a good driver he is and goes balls out around the track. On the longest straight on the track, nothing to do but shift, instructor shifts into second instead of fourth. Lets out clutch, 8 bent valves. Should instructor be responsible for any damages? Thanks for you input. Mark

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm no lawyer, but I think that negligence, or intent needs to be proven, but I think there are some legal savvy guys on the board, maybe they will chime in.

Maybe change the subject header to more accurately reflect your question, and to draw in the appropriate audience?

Tim

Guest Anonymous

Forgot to mention, my friend is a lawyer. Seems to me if you break it you should offer to at least help to fix it. Would that not be the right thing to to reguardless of waivers ot legal wrangling?

i'm no lawyer, but doesn't lack of care when in control of something that is not yours constitute negligence? i mean we have all missed a shift... i never blew the crap out of a head doing it but it obviously happens.

is he responsible for damages? in my opinion yes, i know that won't hold up in court but he was placed into a position of great trust and he betrayed that.