HybridZ

Octane increase = more boost safely?

Guest bastaad525

Guest bastaad525

I live in CA, so I'm pretty much limited to 91 octane, barring aviation or racing fuel. I've been running 10psi, nonintercooled, for a few months now and have had no problems, plugs look good, no sign of running lean, no ping (that I can HEAR) nor any sign of ping on the plugs like metal flakes on the plugs. One thing odd about them is that they do have that glazed, yellow appearance which I believe is a sign of needing a lower heat range plug. Exhuast tip looks nice and sooty... everything suggests that the car is running fine on the boost. Anyways, I've been wondering... I have asked and looked up info about using Toluene as an octane booster... Apparently using a 10% mixture of the stuff to 91 octane fuel will bring the octane up to 94. I've actually read in other places that it will bring the octane up as high as 116!!! Though I'm more inclined to believe 94 would be more accurate :wink:

Now what I want to know is if this is accurate info, and I would end up with 94 octane fuel, would this raise my safetly limit of boost before I start detonating? I know 10psi is always prescribed as the limit w/o an intercooler, regardless of fuel quality... on the flipside, I have known a few people who've run 15-18psi or so on stock turbo z's and zx's running 100+ octane w/o intercoolers with no problems... so there must be a middle ground. 94 octane, I would think, is a pretty big, noticeable improvement over 91... would it allow any higher boost, safely? Even 1 or 2 psi? I wouldn't mind adding a gallon of this stuff to every fillup if I could run a couple more psi, that's for sure :)

Well, I have a buddy who ran C-16(117 octane) at the track and he was tuning his car at 14.5-14.7 A/F ratio under WOT (high boost too) :shock:

Datalogger got no knock on that ran.

Just take the fel out slowly or turn the boost up until it knocks. But I wouldn't do it without a proper gauges and datalogger