HybridZ

Is this a good setup?

I'm kinda new to messing with cars, I have kinda a good Idea of what I'm doing, but still not really sure.

I have a 240Z with a pretty much stock L24, I want a storng reliable engine with decent power(200-250hp) first thing I'm going to work on is the ignition system. Here's what I want to do:

XR 3000 Electronic Ignition

Crane PS-91 High preformance Coil

And, the European 240Z Distributor

Comments? Pros and cons? Better suggestions? Any help is appreciated.

ur ignition system sounds like it would be pretty good , but realistically, 250hp out of an l24 is going to require extensive work including major headwork, a cam and maybe even higher compression slugs. If u really want a stout motor that will be super reliable @ 250whp without major modification u should look into the l28et swap(81-83 280zx turbos) 2.8l ohc turbo motor...the swap is fairly simple due to the fact that the L family motors use the same motor and tranny mounts. With the l28et and a few mods such as downpipe, exhaust, intercooler and mayba some sort of ems or the ecu from a early z31 250whp should be attainable with the stock turbo @ about 13-15psi depending on ur setup. Do a search and u can find a lot more on any of the things i just mentioned

250hp out of an L24 is going to require race gas and 12:1 compression or thereabouts. I believe that is about what the EP road racing cars put out at the flywheel, not the wheels.

Turbo is a good suggestion, as is a V8. A VERY mild V8 would put down 250 whp.

If you're determined to keep the L24, we can discuss those parts. I don't think the Euro distributor is going to gain you much unless your current distributor is worn out. The Crane setup and the coil should be good for about 10 hp. I'd go NA 280ZX distributor instead of the Euro.