HybridZ

Help please regarding 240Z tank baffling

24OZ

I gave my tank to a radiator shop to build me a wall or baffle around the pickup and they've cut my tank open and called me to tell me that there is already one in there!

Here are the pics..

Pic1

Pic2

Pic3

I new there was some kind of baffle in a 240 tank but not such a large one. Can anyone give me some advice to pass on to them as they dont know what else they can do really... :roll:

I am thinking that these baffles cant be good enough as this is why everyone has been saying to fit a surge tank or modify the tank.

Please help as the tank is with them and they are waiting for further instructions. I am feeling like a complete Noob now.

I checked the archives out on this and saw the pics of the in-tank pump and the sumps, I want to go for a different route though. Mainly because i have already purchased an expensive external tank already and I dont like the idea of the sump.

I have already asked them to enlarge the pickup to 15mm and the inlet to 10mm.

What do you guys think of a circular pot around the pickup? Or another Square tray around it.

That baffle simply isn't good enough for a fuel injected vehicle. Expose the pick up tube just once under full throttle and the engine will go lean risking damage. Carbs have fuel bowls which will tolerate a momentary loss of fuel pressure.

Somewhere someone has posted a pic of the inside of a 280 tank. The 280 tank has that same baffle plus a circular fuel pot in the middle of the tank with the supply and return line plumbed into that. I am not sure what type of trap doors they have to allow the fuel into the fuel pot but not out.

If you are fuel injected have them add something like that. If you are carbed, then just add a bigger inlet tube and call it a day.

Mike - Thanks for the idea, something to look into. I heard that the foam deteriorates with time, I must look into how long its life is.