HybridZ

North Carolina...

cygnusx1

So here I am, sitting on the third deck of our rental house gazing West into Pamlico Sound. The low pressure system that just left Florida is pissing on us and the wind is just begging the boldest windsurfers to call in sick. I have been coming down to the Outer Banks for many years on and off. Initially, I came down here with high school buddies to go windsurfing and drink. Now I am down here with my family to relax and left the windsurfers back home. I remember back about 15 years ago when my friend Jerry and I decided that the best of our vehicles to take from New York to the Outer Banks was, my then younger, 280Z. We had my dad machine up a roof rack for the Z out of aluminum tubing with stainless drip rail vertical clamps. It was a peice of art fit for the Henry Ford museum. Jerry and I strapped three windsurfer boards, five sails, three booms and two masts onto the rack. Can you picture it? It looked about as graceful as a pig on iceskates with a monkey on its back. In the hatch, we packed enough camping gear for a week, including tent, stove, propane, clothing, beer, cheese, and crackers. The drive was phenominal. The Z was flawless all the way down the 12 hour trip. I remember Jerry, who was building a Z at the time also, commenting on how my Z ran so well. We got here and picked a water's edge spot to pitch the small tent at Frisco Woods campground. Overnight, a Noreaster surprised us and we woke up before sunrise to a steady, 60 knot cross onsore wind blowing off the Pamlico. We had put the tent up on a small sand pile about three feet above the waterline in between a few small trees. The relentless wind had reshaped the tent overnight from a dome into pretty much a teardrop shape. If we hadn't been in it for ballast, the tent with all or crap in it would have been blown away. Being very creative, we scrounged up three 150lb wooden picnic tables and tied them on edge in between the small trees just upwind of the tent.