HybridZ

Compatibility Question

WizardBlack

OK, I have searched and didn't come up with the answer. I am still learning as I read every thread I can get my hands on about shortnose R200 swaps, but perhaps my understanding is lacking such that I didn't pick up the answer from the discussion.

Will Z31 turbo halfshafts (and perhaps the companion flanges from Modern Motorsports) fit into a shortnose R200? I want to do either a viscous 240SX R200 swap or that from a Q45 (which seems bigger and doesn't seem like the halfshafts would work). I am leaning towards the 240SX since they seem to be easy to get. I don't fear fabricating a front mount for the diff so that portion looks to be surmountable, but the whole halfshaft length issues and whatnot leaves me a bit concerned. Or, am I all wet and just getting a Z31 VLSD pumpkin the way to go? My biggest concern is that the width is incorrect. What can I mix-n-match? (Sorry if I missed it in my searches)

I want to say "yes" it will, but I'd contact Ross at MML to get the answer for sure... And for the record, I've got the parts and am doing the Q45. If I were starting from Scratch, I'd buy a quaiffe equipped R200 with numerically low gears (In the 3.3 to 3.5 range) in it and NOT do the Q45. It's complexity and weight aren't worth it, in my opinion.

Mike

I want to say "yes" it will, but I'd contact Ross at MML to get the answer for sure... And for the record, I've got the parts and am doing the Q45. If I were starting from Scratch, I'd buy a quaiffe equipped R200 with numerically low gears (In the 3.3 to 3.5 range) in it and NOT do the Q45. It's complexity and weight aren't worth it, in my opinion.

Mike

How much more do you think it weighs? Also, what do you think your parts costs are up to with a Q45 conversion?

Will Z31 turbo halfshafts (and perhaps the companion flanges from Modern Motorsports) fit into a shortnose R200?