HybridZ

The flutters!

HB280ZT

OK I know that does not sound right but that is what my car is doing!

Here is what I have:

MS 1 V3 with 29v Extra code

82 ZX turbo motor with N42 head using turbo cam

T3/TO4 turbo

intercooler

Tial BOV

running 12 psi boost

manual DIY boost controller

60mm TB

Here is what the car is doing. When I am just getting into boost the car sometimes flutters, no better way to explain it. However when I get into it hard it does not flutter. So what could be causing it?

If you look in the datalog around record 3185 (415.414s) you will see what I am talking about.

So if anyone has any ideas please let me know as this is driving me nuts!

HB280ZT

datalog200801111738.zip

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Probably turbo surge causing the boost to bounce off your BOV. Mine does the same thing sometimes. It happens when I acclerate and then back off the throttle slightly. The problem is that there is no hysterisis built into the BOV's so they get into this confused state of open-close-open-close. Search for "surge".

Well I have used several different BOV's and they all did it.

1 - was a 1st G BOV and it drove me crazy, up to 15 psi of boost, ti would leak at lower boost

2 - was a 1st G knock off BOV and it did the same, it was adjustable but it did not matter, it would also leak at lower boost

3 - latest I went with a new Tial 50mm BOV, it is non-adjustable but it is running a -18 and -21 in/Hg Un-painted spring, I no longer have the leaks and when I am really in boost it holds great.

So I guess I will do some searching for surge and see what is up. If anyone has a solution that would be great as I really need to get rid of this if I every plan on having any fun on track days at Sebring!!

HB280ZT