HybridZ

Manual Jag v12

Jesse OBrien

I've been researching for the past week on which engine to put in the s30 I'll purchase (as soon as I decide on engine) and I think it's narrowed down to the Jag 5.3l v12. My one caveat is that manual transmissions are nearly impossible to find, and the torque from the v12 makes it even more difficult (if I've done my math correctly, the first stomp on the throttle will hand-grenade a t5 or t56).

Considering the t5 and t56 are the industry standards, and essentially the do-all, end-all of rwd transmissions, I wanted to go with that as my choice. My research started here:

http://forums.hybridz.org/showthread.php?t=97350

and went here:

http://forums.hybridz.org/showthread.php?t=111184&highlight=v12

and brought me over here:

http://ca.geocities.com/dotdotdot@rogers.com/

and finally (arguably most importantly) here:

http://www.5speeds.com/v12bell.html

Now, I'm fairly new to the rwd scene as a whole, so I'm unfamiliar with this counting-splines and matching clutch forks (Hondas are a good deal simpler, and machining anything in the Honda community is basically unheard of). It looks like that bellhousing allows Tremec transmissions to be bolted up, but I'm confused as to exactly which transmissions will slide in (spline pattern and diameter appears to be the defining factor).

What I need to know:

1. What factors am I looking for? (spline number, input shaft diameter, shifter location, flywheel/clutch, etc).
  2. Does anybody have the specifics on the transmission-side of the Jag 5.3 v12?
  3. Who has done this already? (I know DOT did, and since the t56 is my preference, I'm specifically hoping he replies).

I've done a lot of research on the engine, and it basically needs a new intake/header system (I think my plans for ITBs will work very very nicely), a pair of cams, and a valvetrain to put down a nice fat, even powerband.