HybridZ

Exhaust Heat Issues

Okay, so I'm new to the world of small-block V8s, so I had someone build and install the motor for me. Now that I have it running and I'm doing the break-in, I notice that the headers I have radiate lots of heat (no duh, right?).

I am using a some steel block-hugger shorties that have the black header paint on them, it finally stopped "curing" about a week ago. That smell is awful. The problem with the heat is that I'd rather not boil my fuel on its way to the carburetor (which I think I've alleviated that issue by rerouting the fuel lines) or melt wires that run near the headers/engine block (ignition stuff, starter relay circuit, etc.).

There are a lot of guys on this board running these types of headers, so I'm wondering if I could get some input. I realize regular steel is bottom of the barrel material, but to go stainless looks like it's way out of my price range, does stainless cut down on heat? I know SS is generally more conductive and would conduct heat away from the head faster, but I'd also think it'd radiate more in that case? Are there any other options, ceramic coatings, etc?

I have a buddy that has been helping me work through some of the issues on my swap, but we seem to butt heads when it comes to certain things.

I am of the opinion that header-wrap might be in order, but he swears up and down that it will disintegrate my headers after like a few weeks of driving (like 500 miles or so), I have never had cause to wrap my headers before, is this really an issue?

If I can't wrap them, does anyone make good heat shields that might fit?

Any other suggestions? I'm kind of at my wit's end with this car, should've just stuck with the L6, looking back, lol. It is ridiculously fast, though.

What is Jet-Coating? Where would I take it to have it done?

I need more information than "just do this."

And, at $100 per header, I might as well get different headers while I'm at it.