HybridZ

HELP>>>funny engine noises

HI All,

a guy that I know has just finished an RB26DETT S14 engine conversion. He is worried about some bad engine noises and would like to know what it may be. I am no mechanic but my guess is the main bearings???

It takes 3 to 5 min to download on a 56k dialup.

http://24.163.137.145/engine.wmv

Thanks,

Cuong

The ringing noise at the beginning has me puzzled :? could be a problem with the starter or ring gear?

The knocking noise sounds like the rod bearings are shot. If so it going to need a crank,resized rods, and all new bottom end bearings, as well as a thorough cleaning.

Might be cheaper to get a reman short block in the end?

I agree, that sounds just like some shot rod bearings. The puzzling part is the ringing noise at the end. Have him check the starter carefully. It might not be fully disengaging and might sound like that. Did he check the engine before he put it in?

If it is a bottom end problem, just new rod bearings might be enough to fix the issue depending on how bad the problem is. Re-sizeing the rods are usually a serious issue.

-Bob

I`ve never been an advocate of only changing bearings. From my personal experience I`ve found that whenever you have a rod bearing failure, There is usually some other reason for the failure. Maybe low oil pressure, or maybe foriegn debrit in the oil.

Both of these can cause crank damage as well as bearing damage.

If you attempt to change only the bearing. Be absolutely sure that the crank is within specs for taper,diameter, and out of round. Also be sure that there are no visible marks or scatches in the finish of the journal.

These can usually be felt by dragging your finger nail across the journal to feel for scoreing or scratches.

If you feel any roughness, and have anything other than a smooth polished finish to the jounal, regardless of any other specs. I would recommend replacement or regrinding the crank.