HybridZ

fiberglass hood plus

evildky

I was really wanting to do the one piece AZC fiberglass front end but after some searching I found the idea to be less then desirable and I don't care for the "boxed" flares either, so I am now thinking of making my own hood that will encoumpass the cowl panel as well as the access doors over the battery and master cylinder, and to then mould blank buckets to fiberglass fenders just to get rid of some of the many breaks in the bodypanels

I have very little experience with fibergalss but have seen some very impressive work done by people who learned as they built, so what's the best tips and tricks, and the best place to get large quantities of matt and epoxy? and or got a really good reason I should not try this?

I believe the cowl panel is restricted from any movement by the wiper mechanism? So to open the hood with an attached cowl panel, you would need to modify it in a way that would allow it to open with wipers in place (provided you intend to have wipers).

Aside from this obstacle, A cowl panel would not be that hard to fabricate, but could be complicated if you want to duplicate the vent slotting the OEM panel has. I've seen the underside of these panels, and provided you had a good, rust free, panel, I wonder if you couldn't us a release agent and simply use the underside of the cowl as a mold for your panel. Obviously the size will be slightly smaller doing this, but this would not be an overwhelming issue being this panel is of a thin gauge.