HybridZ

280ZX Turbo Specs

Lurch2461

Hi All,

I am a newbie from Sydney Australia and I don't own a Zed car.

What I do own is an 84 Nissan Skyline Paul Newman Version that looks similar to the M30 Infinity you had in USA but it's powered by an L series 2000cc 6 cyl SOHC 12V same as all Zed's up to 280.

I am void of certain facts in Ozland and would like to know if you guys can help.

I am undertaking the building of the L31 stroker engine. I have an F54 block, P90 head, LD28 crank, L24 rods, am going to use Z24 pistons, but would like to know your recommendations for flywheel, clutch and cam etc. I intend to turbo it as well with either a high flow T03 or T04but would like to stay under 14psi of boost, so that some reliability can be attained.

Can you guys tell me the 280 flywheel diameter, clutch size and is the 280ZX Turbo bits bigger or same size and recommended cam grind and profile etc.

The aim is 250 - 300HP at the wheels.

Cheers,

Dennis

For the flywheel the 2+2's flywheel is the same size as the 280zx turbos. As for clutch just go to a clutch joint and ask for a clutch to suit for 300+ rwhp. Thats all I did and they gave me an organic button clutch from exedy. Does the job quite well, but its very aggressive. The stock p90 cam will do the job for 300rwhp.

http://forums.hybridz.org/showthread.php?t=84860

You'll spend thousands more than you need to if you do what you're planning on doing. Plenty of people here putting down 300 whp on stock internals' date=' no stroker.[/quote']

Thanks for this, I have printed off everything relevant.

I have done some research into the stroker and the prime reason was the torque gain and I had to acquire a crank in any case, as the F54 block I got only came with caps & sump so LD28 was as good as any.

I don't want to put 20+ psi boost into it so the extra capacity would help.

Thanks heaps for your help

How do I get pics on to this site, as I can post some pics of the car I'm playing with for you guys to see.