HybridZ

Project Silver Bullet Hits the Dragstrip

So I went to the local dragstrip last night. This was their last Friday night of the season and boy was it crowded. I got there around 7pm and had to wait 3 hours to run.

I met up with Jody and his super nice, super fast 280Z28. His car has so many chevy parts you aren't sure if its more datsun or more chevy. He is a great guy and I really enjoyed meeting him.

I also met up with several other Z car owners that were attending as spectators and didn't have their cars there. Nice to know there are so Many more Z owners around my area. Lots of other Nissan/Datsuns too.

I finally got to run around 10 pm and only made one run. I was hoping to run in the high 12's but I had major problems getting the car to hook up. With the skinny 195-60-14 Falken Azenis tires, I was spinning wheels through most of 1st and part of 2nd gear. I had really tried to launch it easy but I guess I got caught up in the moment. I am a beginner at this straight line stuff and in the other lane was a really nice 1970 Plymouth GTX with a 440 in it. Sitting next to that GTX made me think about racing him instead of concentrating on my own launch. I did leave him way behind but I need to work on my reaction time and get some bigger, stickier tires if I want better times. I am sure the car is good for mid 12's but my one run netted the following:

1/4 mile: 13.1639

1/4 mile Speed: 100.3816

Reaction time: 1.4294

60 ft: 2.1174

330ft:5.7054

1/8th mile:8.6213

The GTX ran a 14.8512 so the crowd was surprised to see the Datsun beat the American Muscle car.

I really didn't build the car for the 1/4 mile but it was fun to run it and I am sure I will go back again and see if I can get the car in the mid 12's.

• Administrators

Speaking 440 Chryslers…