HybridZ

California Smog

datz280

I have a 77 and live in clifornia. I am thinking of swapping in a l28et over the summer. I dont think smog certificating and going to a referee will be to hard (famous last words). I am also thinking of using a MegaSquirt n Spark system for the FI and spark. i searched but could not find a deffinate answer. Will I using an aftermarket system like MSnS cause me to fail Cali. Smog?

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

i am a licensed smog tech in komifornia.i have a 77z with zxt motor.the megasquirt will work better but technically the zxt engine can only run all stock efi system and all other systems like evap system must be working.i did the install on my car and it passed at the ref first try.they issue a sticker for your door jam.about ms-i wouldnt install it until car is passed at the ref station.then you will need to figure out how to make it control egr.no egr=high nox output.my car is no longer registered in ca.the stock zxt efi system hits the limit very early as far as horse power goes.the ref will go over the whole car when you get it inspected.then be prepared for test only every 2 years.i couldnt test my own car when i used to work at a ford dealership.but i used the smog machine to test my car and check my repairs before going to test only station.to make the car pass you should have a very good understanding of emission systems.also be aware that things like old partially plugged fuel injectors and poor connections at sensors will cause hours of frustration-whren i swapped my motor in i used new injectors and alot of new supporting parts.so if you try to cut corners you will cause problems with may trips to ref station and dmv to get 1 month temp sticker.

FYI, there are more than a few MS units that have run in 'stealth mode' and successfully passed California Smog Check...TWICE! (Been running that long? Yeah, they have!)