HybridZ

How to connect wires?

Lazeum

The way wires are connected under the hood in my 240z needs to be improved.

So far, there's some plastic caps with internal thread which clamp wires togother. It works but for how long? It looks awkward + I am sure there're better solutions. I need your ideas ;)

This is how my setup looks currently :weird: it's messy and not very organised.

dsc02317.jpg

What do you suggest?

- I can solder them (I've heard that wires should never be soldered in car)

- Buy some regular clamps for 2 wires but I can attach 2 wires at the same clamp.

- Other solution?

If you have some pictures, please show me :wink:

Wire to wire connections should ONLY be soldered in a car.

I work with automotive electrical for a living, and all of my wire to wire connections are soldered.

I've seen people use other forms of connection and all fail but soldering.

I NEVER use but connectors, while they work, they provide a high(er) resistance path for a wire to wire connection than twisting and soldering does.

Get rid of that Marette, ASAP, those are one of the worst types of connections to use in a car, only one worse is twisting alone, without insulating (I've seen that too). Marettes are meant to be used in a house, not a car that moves, and goes through heat cycles much more often than a house does.

It's good to know that wires should be soldered. I'm pretty sure I've read different stories somewhere on the net. I'm going to look for them.

Regarding the connectors (Weathertight), I'm also going to look for them. I had no luck with Google (in 5 minutes) to find any info yet.

Then the Marette, That's an ugly solution I need to fix for sure... I don't like it neither ;) (it bought the car with it)

Thanks guys for your inputs ;)