HybridZ

So, I've decided to go megasquirt..

ZXT_bean

thats right, i have had it with this 30+ yr old wiring and everything associated with it! but being a complete noob i want to make sure i basically have everything ill need to do a complete and clean install. for some backround on the car. the car it self is a 80' 280zx. I have swapped in a l28et from a 81' zxt. both cars being auto. i have been having some issues with the factory ignition setup. so rather than replacing expensive components, which would cost about just as much as Mega Squirt setup. ive decided to go this route.

the car and swap is 100% factory stock. but with many more mods in mind, i figgure this is my best direction to go.

from what ive read, ms2 is the way to go. and also to use the ignition control.

so here is a parts list i have put together from diyautotune.com, if there is something i should have or need to get, please let me know. i know i will need a wide band setup. but i will purchase that as my wallet permits.

megasquirtpartslist.jpg

i know i will need a 82-83 zxt distributer. and that it is triggered by a hall effect type switch. i have found a very useful thread on diyautotune.com

http://www.diyautotune.com/tech_articles/how_to_megasquirt_your_280zx_turbo.htm

i know there are hours of reading and searching i still need to do. but still want to make sure this is the basics of what i will be needing. thanks again.

i thought the harness they sell basically takes the place of the relay board? or did you just cut the connector plug off and just use the wire? and another question i have is. the injectors in my car are from an 81', so they have the dropping resistors already wired in. would i keep that part of the wiring, or wire the injectors directly to the relay board.

Thats pretty much exactly what I bought. I also got the harness from DIY and I used the LM1 Wideband O2 kit.

My firmware is older than what you will get though.