HybridZ

How good of a shot are you at 100 yards?

OlderThanMe

A while back I went to a high power rifle shoot with my uncle and here is one of my targets at 100 yards. This is with an Ar-15 that weighs 13 pounds (pretty light) and had good sights. This was in the prone position.

m58416055.jpg

This was my first time shooting any gun more powerful than a .22 caliber pop gun. I have shot a 12 guage but I'm not very good with skeet shooting.

I know the Doc is pretty good but I want to see targets!

oh btw..here is a picture of me and my ghillie suit for when I play paintball...this is in my back yard.

m50953579.jpg

It's pretty fun to have someone walk within 10 feet of you and not see you. It's even better when they look stright at your eyes and stare for a few seconds and then keep going.

They never saw the paint rounds come in. :-)

For a first timer, with iron sights, that is a really good target. The main thing is you're getting to the range, shooting, and having a good time. The three shots dropped low and to the right sorta indicate you need to work on your triggger squeeze, it appears you might have jerked those a little.

To give you a idea of what's possible, with a well tuned AR-15, good ammo, a 10 or so scope, shooting off bags, and no wind, you can drill that quarter 10 times in a row.

The best way to improve your trigger squeeze is to have a buddy load your mag with a mixture of live and dummy rounds, so you don't know if you have a live round chambered or not. Then shoot normally, when you get a dummy round you can tell if you jerk the trigger or not, without the noise and recoil to affect your perception. When the gun snaps on a dummy round, and you don't flinch or jerk, you're getting there.

Good shooting.

John

For a first timer, with iron sights, that is a really good target.