HybridZ

Crank angle sensing

cygnusx1

I am no electronics guru and I am just learning about other ignition options with MSII on the 83 L28ET. I am considering eliminating the dizzy and going EDIS. My biggest holdback is the fact that I have A/C in the car, so my front pulley and trigger wheel mounting options are somewhat limited.

I have seen the 36-1 trigger cast into some flywheels but I ask does it need to be 36-1?

OK here comes the crazy "outside the box" question. Is there any way to make the starter gear teeth on the flywheel act like a trigger wheel? Maybe by grinding off half of a tooth to signal a missing tooth to a sensor. Could MSII read a sensor on the flywheel gear teeth and turn that info into a spark timing trigger for a coil pack? Maybe adding a few magnets to a flywheel could signal an ignition? Any other ideas without messing with the front pulley?

Slap me silly if you want to. It's just a dumb question. :icon_frow

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I've not heard of using the teeth, but I know a few people have installed magnets or machined "teeth" into the flywheel opposite of the clutch surface, then simply put the vr or hall sensor through the sheet metal cover on the engine side. A few OEMs do this as well.

There's a couple ways this can go here...

I am no electronics guru and I am just learning about other ignition options with MSII on the 83 L28ET. I am considering eliminating the dizzy and going EDIS. My biggest holdback is the fact that I have A/C in the car, so my front pulley and trigger wheel mounting options are somewhat limited.

I have seen the 36-1 trigger cast into some flywheels but I ask does it need to be 36-1?