HybridZ

Anyone into the Real Estate Bizz?

EvilC

I have been working on a plan and figured I would run it across some of you guys who may do this for a living or have helpful input, so anything you feel/think please post it.

Recap of me:

I have been out of school now and working for 18 months and now living at home. When I graduated from school, I had a total of 44kish in total which included 34k in school loan.....6k in credit cards....4k to a friend who loaned me the money to "finish" the Z. Right now I have a credit score (mid score) over 750 and have my total debt down to under 18k. I am on pace to have no debt come this September. I am trying to pay the remaining school loan off by paying $2500 a month due to its 4.5% interest but some months I will probably only pay $2000.

Why the Real Estate question:

I know that we the country are going through some rough times and thinking ahead for my own life, this should be the time for someone my age (25 in April) to really look into investing. Right now I have a pretty safe and sound job, so being laid off never comes across my mind. With that said, I want to take advantage of the down economy because this may be the only time that things are some what affordable again. What I mean by that is.....Someone who goes to college and comes out $50k in the hole....will still struggling making $80k plus and trying to find a home in the area I live in. Granted where you live plays a HUGE role on life style, cost of living and self happiness. I am glad I went away to college in the middle of nowhere because I really got to appreciate life itself without all the "I have to have this" mentality and that is when I realize property has no true value...only what someone says it is worth and what someone wants to pay for it.

What is the plan: