HybridZ

Offsets hurt my brain

First things first, hello, this is my first time in the forums as I recently picked up a '78 280z. 

Second, while I am sure you've all heard this a million times, but I need help with fitment. I am looking at 15x8, 0 offset up front, and 15x8 or 15x9 in the rear, but I'm unsure about the offset in back. I'm looking at either Rota RKRs or Enkei Compes, and I plan on getting Techno Toy Tuning micro big brake kit front and rear. I'm on stock fenders and don't plan on changing that, and I'm looking for flush fitment. Would all of this work? 

Welcome!  

Just a brief note on backspacing and offset… Add 1” to the nominal wheel width.  So, a 15”x8” has 9” lip-to-lip width.  Half of that, is 4.5”.  If the inner mounting-face of the bolt circle is 4.5” outboard of the inner lip edge, that is 0 offset.  It’s also 4.5” backspacing.  Confusingly, often we see offset in millimeters but backspacing and width in inches.  And unfortunately, most wheels these days are designed for FWD cars, resulting in large positive offset.  So, an offset of +25mm means a backspacing of 5.5”.  For wide wheels on a Z, we are limited on backspacing, because the wheel rim or the tire sidewall will contact the McPherson strut spring perch.  We can roll or cut the fenders, but other than a coilover setup with smaller diameter spring perch, we’re stuck on the inner-side.

On my 1978 280Z, with 14x7 wheels with zero offset (thus, 4” backspacing), on the rear, I measure 0.75” between the wheel inner lip and the spring perch.  A 15x8 with zero offset (4.5” backspacing) would presumably move the wheel inner lip 0.5” further inboard, meaning that is just barely clears at the wheel.  I can not vouch for how it would clear at the tire.