HybridZ

custom Intake!

I'm an aerospace engineering student, and I just happen to work at our Engineering Research Center where we do CFD all day long. :)

The model looks fairly simple, and I should be able to do it within a week depending on how clean the model is. (This is trying to work it in with my current work-related project.)

How big is the file, and can you convert it to *.iges or *.igs?

The only problem I can see is with the tubes. Without having them cast, or mandrel bent, to spec, they could be very hard to reproduce. Not trying to rain on your parade, just making some observations ;)

You could have them be straight from the plenum to the ports, but they would enter at strange angles which would cause some turbulent flow. The only other option I see is to make your bells smaller and have them spaced so they are able to go straight in the ports. Again, this won't be as good as your current design as far as flow goes.

For a turbo car, wave propigation isn't such a big deal. Just jam it in. There are calculators for the length and width of runners for NA cars.

or are we talking about 2 different things?

The composite thing is a good idea. Would have to make sure your resin was petro-resistant.

For a turbo car' date=' wave propigation isn't such a big deal. Just jam it in. There are calculators for the length and width of runners for NA cars.

or are we talking about 2 different things?

The composite thing is a good idea. Would have to make sure your resin was petro-resistant.[/quote']

Yeah fair enough, but if I was doing this I'd try to make it versatile enough for NA applications as well. The theory still applies to turbo engines... but I guess plenum volume would be the only other variable worth considering strongly.

Hrmmmm... full composite intake manifolds....