HybridZ

I Found A Cool Engine

driftz240

Has anyone ever heard of an h30 engine?

im a forklift tech, and pulled a old tcm forklift engine, the old early 70's tcm had a h30 6CYL datsun engine, that looks dead on the L series found in the z cars, "with exception of distributor being on the opposite side of the block, and ofcourse the stupid cam profile and head designed for low rpm , high torque industrial applications. what do you think would happen if i bolted on a E88 head on this bad boy? it certinly looks like it will fit no prob. the head gaskets are identical to a l26 one i had laying around. do you think it might make some good power?

i found a link of old datsun industrial and commertial units, kinda cool..im in love with that nissan japanese military truck. anyway, has anyone ever tryed this? i have round tops and e88 and everything i need to make it happen...should i waste a few hours of my life just to see what would happen??

check out this site

http://www.geocities.com/motorcity/pit/3823/truck.html

• Replies 116
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

the one i have is ohc, it even looks like the timing chain, guide and gears are the same, it looks alot like an L series motor. with distributor in a different spot and a super size waterpump. ill try a e88 and some round tops on it for sheets and giggles,

the intake minifold and LPG carb might make a super low emissions LP powered 240z for someone, if there stupid enuff to mount a LP tank in your hatch.

it is a gas engine, but using a modern impco propane system, but a gas carb was oem equiptment.yeah i kinda figured the low rpm range might cause some broblems, balancing it might be a good idea.if i test fit the head and everything looks good, its off to the machine shop, re-ring it and balance it. nothing too fancy on a guess job that might just explode. but if it does work i can get tons of these.3.o long blocks.