HybridZ

N42/N42 combo good for turbo?

cybermecium

Are the stock dished pistons good for a 300HP turbo setup with an N42 block and N42 head? I plan on running a T3/T4 .72 ar stock ZXT intake and exhaust manifolds, and probably a megasquirt hooked up to my toshiba sattelite... So How do the stock N42 dished pistons hold up in a turbo application? I know it has to due with how well the A/F ratio and timing curve is tuned, but I'm pretty new to Z's in general. thanks

Jake

• 2 weeks later...
i just tried this set-up at 12psi. Pulled hard for 4 days. BUt then the head gasket blew.... I'm in the middle of changing it now. I'm going to run the n42 block w/ my p90 head if i can find out what mods you have to do....

What makes you sure that this was due to the N42 head? How old was the gasket?

Had you re-torqued it recently?

What head bolts were you using?

I got a JDM N42 with flat-tops, and have been running it at 300+HP for 44,000+ miles (since at least 1991....)

Someone blowing a head gasket in 4 days was getting abit enthusiastic with an unsorted combination, and that can happen at stock boost, on a desicated F54/P90 combination as well.

The N42/N42 was used in the JDM market for monster motors putting full bodied ZX's into the high 9's and low 10's back in the mid 80's, the block is plenty strong, just stay away from detonation---i.e. spark and fuel control is the key. It's a mantra, repeat it often while contemplating it in the lotus position on the roof of the car.... It will come to you eventually: Too much spark and not enough fuel is bad CARma.... Get it? LOL!!!

• Administrators
...It's a mantra, repeat it often while contemplating it in the lotus position on the roof of the car.... It will come to you eventually: Too much spark and not enough fuel is bad CARma.... Get it? LOL!!!

:lmao: