HybridZ

putting LSD in non LSD R200

SRpwrd240z

It's not to hard. I took a R200 from a '78 280Z which had a 3.54 ratio and installed a '87-'89 300ZX clutch type LSD into the aforementioned R200. I was a newbie to rear ends when I did it, but it worked out geat. However, I did need to make spacers for the 12mm carrier to work with the 10mm bolts for the ring gear.

Is it worth it? I would say yes, if you want a clutch type LSD with a different ratio other than the 3.70 the 300ZX LSD carrier comes in.

!M!

Just a little information on installing a R200 LSD (late model 12mm bolts) into an R200 with 10mm bolts on the ring gear. I just got off the phone with Precision Gear...I placed an ordered for a R200 LSD (clutch type with 4 pinion spider) intended for the 12mm bolts. They told me that if you use spacers to take up the tolerance between the 10mm and 12mm bolt thru holes in the carrier, be sure they are not too long...infact they told me you do not need the spacers because the clamping force of the bolts is what actually holds the ring gear securely. The slight tolerance is not an issue. They said they have done many race cars in this fashion without a problem. By the way..Precision Gear's part number for the R200 LSD is #LOM59-12 ($602.95)....not bad for a new unit. Their phone number is (734) 946-0524

Hope this helps solve the issue of using spacers.

...infact they told me you do not need the spacers because the clamping force of the bolts is what actually holds the ring gear securely. The slight tolerance is not an issue. They said they have done many race cars in this fashion without a problem.

That sounds very wrong! What is keeping the ring gear from turning on the carrier? I doubt the "clamping force" of the ring gear bolts are enough to keep the ring gear from rotating slightly.

!M!