HybridZ

Really an L28?

HakosukaJD

So I recently bought a Hakosuka. The shop advertised the car as an L28 with Mikuni (Solex) 44's.

So I get the car home and take the silencer out of the tailpipe that was no doubt stuffing the engine. Since I'm new to carb'd cars, a friend of mine assists in balancing them (and we find one of the butterfly posts to be a bit tweaked...fixed now).

No matter what he did, he couldn't get the engine to run smooth through the mid-rpms (carb spits, hesitation etc). Power/torque under 2k is pretty good and the car takes off above 4k RPMS. So he assumes the jetting may be a bit off.

We pull the head cover to see what kind of CAM its running to possibly get a baseline to start from. The cam has no markings on the end (where, I'm told an aftermarket cam is usually marked), but has L20 stamped in the middle of the cam. Engine looks like it has recently been rebuilt.

Looked strange to us...L20 cam in an L28. We look at the block plate, and it also says L20. The head is an N42 (L28, I believe) head.

I call the shop. The shop ASSURES me the engine is indeed an L28 and that it is likely the previous owner shaved the block plate and restamped it to pay the lesser road tax (Japan road taxes based partly on displacement).

Apart from taking the head off and measuring the cylinders, are there any other definative ways to identify this block as either an L20 or an L28? Block serial code? Appendages?

I know somebody here has all these differences memorized!

I would bet that it's an L20 bored and stroked to an L28. Like you said "Japan road taxes based partly on displacement". I know that's what I would do if the block would hold. Your buddy might be right about the roughness. Carbs are such a PITA and even more when you have more then one of them.

That's almost a 30% increase in displacement....is that possible?