HybridZ

How hard is an SR20DET Swap?

Guest Yellownor

Guest Yellownor

Hey guyz, im new to this site as a member but i have visisted it before. I own a 71' Datsun 240z, four speed, and I was looking into a engine swap for the reliability of a new engine and for a little more "umph". I have spent time researching the L28ET and SR20DET. I was wondering how managable an SR swap was. Now i know that an RB is probally a better swap but i am a high school student and 1. my dad wont let me put that much power into the car, and 2. i dont have nearly enough money to purchase the engine and everything i will need to make it functional. I am fairly familiar with an SR swap into a 240sx, but i have never seen one done on my car, other then things i have seen online. Any information relating to the subject would be most appritiated, any websites would also be nice, and i am located in northwestern Florida, so anyone selling an L28ET or and SR20DET, i would like to talk to. thank you for your time, Alex. Its not that im really low on cash, its just i dont want to have to spend alot more money if there is not alot more gain. I have used the search tab on the website, and i found useful information but nothing extremely specific on pros and cons of the two engines. also if someone near northwestern florida, has done the swap and would be willing to talk about it over the phone, could you leave a post saying on how we could get in touch, because i would raelly like to talk to someone who has done the swap themselves.

I'm not an expert here, as I've never seen one for real either but, from what I've read, I think the major problem with the SR swap is that the engine sits right on the crossmember. Thus, I "THINK" that the aforementioned crossmember needs to be modified or it'll leave the engine at an odd angle which would be hard on the driveshaft's U-joints.

Nowadays, I think that an SR20 isn't that much cheaper than an RB25...