HybridZ

Should I?

Guest TDMCobra

Guest TDMCobra

Recently, while driving my 95 Cobra, someone lost control and knocked me off the road. It might be totalled. But the engine, transmission, and most of everything else are in great shape. Just the frame seems to need replacing (which leaves the chance of it being totalled at possibly, the claims adjuster had been running numbers for the past 2 days, still on the fence). Pause for pictures..

1001910mi8.jpg

1001913rh1.jpg

Yes I know it looks ok before you say, it doesnt look bad. Just trust me...but anyways, I was planning to take the goods from the cobra and put them into a RX-7 FC if it really is gone but on SVTP, I was told about the 240/280z swap and refered to here. So I guess Im totally new to this whole idea and was wondering what yall could tell me about it.

-Hows the fit, is it worth it?

-General costs?

-What needs to be replaced (esp with my 331 stroked engine) like a rear end etc?

-Does anyone make kits?

-Could I make this into a reliable daily driver?

-What year models is this good for?

-Besides craigslist, any good places yall know of just to get a solid roller?

-What is the difference between 240zs and 280zs? I dont know Datsuns :(

If this thread goes well, Id be willing to write a "newbie faq" post for sticky. Thanks for yalls help!

Hehehe...I'm not a swap expert so I don't have anything for you other than...HELL YES!!!! All the reason in the world to do the swap is in this forum. Now for sad part. Most of your mounts are probably gonna be custom pieces, but by no means let that stop you. We've all had to one off something just to get the Z back on the road. It's what makes this site what it is.

Guest TDMCobra