HybridZ

Megasquirt Vs. Haltech

bianski

i have researched and ive been looking at megasquirt and haltech ECU's and ive been wondering how hard is it not to tune but to install a megasquirt compared to a Haltech ECU. I want to buy a megasquirt ecu but ive been reading some stuff about people wiring up boards and just a bunch of crazy stuff. I know you have to assemble it but i dont know the first thing about that stuff so how hard would it be for me. And also ive looked but havent been able to find where you buy complete Megasquirt ECU's

I believe that the features are similar, the big difference is time spent, but you could buy a pre-assembled MS to save yourself 8-9 hours.

I found the megasquirt pretty easy to tune on a TBI chevy, it still has a minor light throttle stumble that I'm working on, but otherwise it's great. I have no experience with any of the haltechs though.

Here's a MS feature table to compare to.

Haltech all the way

I don't think you can compare the two fairly unless you take away 3/4 of the haltech options, then you are left with a quality or budget decision.

Come again? MS has time and again proven itself in both performance and reliability. 90% of the problems with MS are user error and even then instead of being stuck with a muddled heap of electronics you can't do anything with, the MS is completely rebuildable with full schematics online and great support sites. If you're buying pre-assembled then yes, you knock out 6-8 hours of time spent. The rest of the "difficulty" depends on how you want to install it. it took me 3-4 hours to install my MS-II using the universal harness from the site. I think the end result here is going to depend completely on personal preference. The two products are equally reliable and capable.