HybridZ

Best way to power up a 70' 240z?

Hi , im new to the scene and this site. My dad just gave me his 240z that he bought new in 70'. I have been longing to do a project car for years but still in school and limited funds. As ive been searching through the forums i haven't seen much talk or advice on turboing a n/a 240z. I want to be at the 300-350hp range but of course using the least amount of cash. Would it be better to go ahead and buy a new 280z motor with fuel injectors or could i put a triple weber on my stock engine. Also i do want to do this the right way and am prepared to wait so that i can save up and buy the right part. Thanx.

• Replies 93
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Ill just step up on this one and tell ya to search. Its all been covered NUMEROUS times. Try checking out all the stickies on all the sub forums.

At least point him in the right direction if you are going to post SEARCH.

Anyway welcome to HBZ and would love to hear/ see this 70 Z you just got. In order to reach the goals you want:

turbo: find a 81-83 280zxt donor (L28ET).....this is the cheapest way to go

V8: find a small block (old school motor if you have one laying around or free...or you can go with the LT1'S/LS1'S which would cost more money to do)

Building a N/A motor will be the most cash. There are plenty of motor swaps you can do just search for LS1 LT1 L28ET SR20...etc. Jeff was right about searching for answers to some basic questions beause it all has been covered once or twice before.

Now get us some pics!