HybridZ

Leak between head and block

Onion

This is pretty recent. I often pop my hood just to take a gander and see how things are going. In the past week or two, this happened (since the last time I took a look around). I'm assuming its water, since there's rust, but I'd need an expert opinion on this as this is way above my level of expertise.

4zUqR.jpg

I took the car in this week for a carb tuneup (I'm absolutely useless at tuning carbs and can't figure out how to tune my Holley). The guy mentioned lower vacuum on one of my cylinders. He didn't do a compression check, but he said that the car wasn't really firing on all 6, but wasn't misfiring. If it is this cylinder that's having issues, how could that be related to the rust? 

Thanks. 

Edit: Forgot engine specs. Again. This is an L24, E88 head, hot cam.

Edited by Onion

I'm no expert but here are the things I would do( in order of difficulty)

1-check coolant for oil and oil for coolant

2- re-torque head bolts

3-compression test

My head did the same thing once after I changed a head gasket(first time) and after a re-torque of the head bolts no more leak problem. Does the car smoke at all?

Edited by Nelatl

I'll get right on that, thanks! 

I haven't touched the head bolts at all, so it would be somewhat peculiar for that to be my problem all of a sudden. Hopefully that's not it, because chasing down the cause of that might be quite a hassle.

The majority of the time, it burns clean. Rich, but no smoke. On cold starts (not very cold in Florida, though), it'll smoke white. It smells odd, but it doesn't smell sweet, so I don't think its burning coolant. It does burn oil very slightly, but not enough for the exhaust to smoke blue. Sometimes it'll smoke a little (barely visible) blue but once it warms up, it goes away. 

Well good luck man. These cars will keep you busy :)