HybridZ

Problem Solving Methodology

Lazeum

I see a lot of topics: "please help!", "why it does not work?", etc.

As a mechanical engineer, I've been following some basic methods to solve issues. As obvious as it could seem for some, it seems everyone is not following the same path.

What about we try to gather methods to solve problem by ourself?

I believe everyone should do his homework first prior to request some help. Most of the time, first answers from members are other questions. What about we try to provide some answers to questions instead?  :)

Of course, the first move should be to search for already known issues. there's tons of lessons learned to be shared on this board.

OEM's are using some problem solving form such as 8D at GM. it helps to:

- Define the issue

- Prevent it (in the industry, it usually mean "check parts & scrap bad ones" )

- Find the root cause

- Find a corrective action

- Make sure it solved for good

2 very basic tools, one is a method "5-why", the second tool is to move forward in the process: fishbone diagram.

5-why.

This is what I'm using when I have a problem: I ask myself why, why, why until I've got a root cause to solve. Usually at the 5th "why", we've got the answer.

The goal is not only to solve the issue but also to prevent it to happen again. That's very basic quality process.

Example:

Issue: My headlights do not work.

1st why: Why don't they work?

-> Bulbs are broken? - no

-> Fuses have melted? - Yes

-> Harness is damaged? - No, checked with ohmmeter

-> Connectors are bad/corroded? - No, they look ok

-> Headlight switch damaged? - No, it was in good shape

-> etc.  - because there's probably 10 more items to be added if we'd like.

2nd why: Why did my fuses melt?

-> Fuses are too weak? - No, they were 15A (instead of 10A)

-> Fuses holder is corroded? - No

-> Corrosion in connectors? - No, I've checked earlier