HybridZ

L28ET build suggestions

280Dan

Hey everyone, I have a '77 280 that I'm looking to swap a motor into in the near future. I tried to do some searching but didn't find what I was looking for in terms of build suggestions based on the head/block combo I have. I'll give you guys as much insite as to what I'm looking to do as I can.

What I have:

I purchased a bare F54 block with crank and a bare P90 head. I have not had either checked yet in terms of cylinder condition, valve guides, etc.

Goals:

The car is my daily driver and I want to go the turbo route. It will be my first turbo'd car and build so I'm aiming around a safe but fun 250-300whp range to start. I'm not worried about emmisions so I know I want to have a pretty cleaned up intake manifold and overall as simple a setup as possible. I want to go distributorless. RELIABILITY (I'm a pretty aggresive driver so although I'm not looking for crazy power I want it be able to handle some weekend abuse etc). I know I would eventually like a custom equal length tubular manifold but we'll just start with the OEM one I guess.

My technical background:

I've been a Mercedes Benz tech for 4 years. I've already rebuilt my current motor in the Z when it spun a bearing a couple years back. So most of the build will be done by myself unless it's machine shop work.

Budget:

Exactly that. It's going to be a budget build. I understand I can't have all the best when were talking budget build but that's why I made the choice to build an L28ET. I was able to get the block crank and head for an unbeatable deal and I know it's a great motor.