HybridZ

What happens when 100" of snow melts

cygnusx1

The water table rises and comes right up through the concrete floor. It happened once before so I never store anything important on the lower shelves, or on the floor. Last time I only got about 18" of water. This is a record in 15 years. Nothing damaged I think. That's why you put electrical panels, outlets, and house mechanicals up off the floor! The only thing of semi-importance on the lower shelves is an old complete head from a 240Z. I suppose I should unwrap it, drain it , and flush it with oil.

Edited by cygnusx1

That's why you put electrical panels, outlets, and house mechanicals up off the floor!

That's the first thing that came to my mind. I'm a Texan, so I have no basement experience, but I imagine water submerged outlets would have been a baaaaaaaaaaaaad bad ordeal.

Well the code requires GFCI outlets that would trip if they shorted. Most of all, I would need to reach my hand under water to plug in the sump pump! That would not be smart. Fortunately, the water stopped about 8" short of our main electrical panel which can push 200amps. I am going to install an automatic sump..because twice now it has surprised me.

The worse part of it all was putting on my Teva's, my swim shorts, a coat, a wool hat, and stepping balls deep into 40 degree water to search for my pump.

The worse part of it all was putting on my Teva's, my swim shorts, a coat, a wool hat, and stepping balls deep into 40 degree water to search for my pump.

I'm sorry for you, but this made me laugh!

So what do you do? If you pump it will it just fill back up?

Yep. I ran my small garden hose pump and a larger pump with a 2" discharge which took the water down to about 2" by lunch time. I had to turn off the large pump because it wont pump down any lower than a few inches. I had lunch. When I went back down, there was another 15" or so of water. Eventually the water table will drop and it stops coming in.