HybridZ

New Metalworking Lathe... need help...

bjhines

I picked up a beginner lathe for my V-8 project...

It is the 8x12 mini lathe that Harbor freight sells for $440... plus shipping...

I comes with a few dozen swappable gears for inch and metric thread cutting, one MT2 center, one MT3 center(don't see what this is for), 2 sets of chuck jaws, all the wrenches and allen keys to assemble the lathe

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/Category.taf?CategoryID=267&pricetype=

New8x12lathe.jpg

New8x12lathegearbox.jpg

New8x12lathetoolrest.jpg

Shipping is reasonable at $61... The problem is.. It weighs 275lbs... I have a commercial delivery address for truck freight.. But I have no forklift for that sort of thing... So I chose to have the store handle it since they have forklifts on site... I used a chain hoist to get it out of my truck...

The next problem is the fact that i have no real practical experience with a metal working lathe... I have some experience with woodworking lathes and some woodworking router based CNC machines... But the metalworking aspect brings some questions to mind... especially in the name of safety...

The lathe came with virtually NO TOOLING... I purchased 2 sets of cutoff tools.. one 1/4" indexable cutter set... and one 5/16" carbide set... I figure the indexable set is great for repeatable cutting.. and I can grind new shapes on the carbide set... I am looking into my options for inside cutting... I think I need a bore bar set... But those things can be expensive... What would you guys suggest for inside boring???...

The lathe did come with 2 centers... one MT2 and one MT3... I can see how the MT2 fits into the tailstock... But what the hell is the MT3 center for???... it makes no sense.. the only thing it would fit into is the lathe chuck... and what good would that be???

Check out www.littlemachineshop.com