HybridZ

240z Vs Opel GT

Guest Reahreic

Guest Reahreic

Ive been forced to watch reruns of Get Smart and have noticed the Opel Gt which he drives in some of the episodes.

now theres no denying that the 240z is one sexy car (personal opinion) and the GT looks very interesting and unique.

now im not American and am still a youngster so i have no real life experience with either vehicles and i was wondering if anyone here would have some experience to share regarding the two cars, i have done alot of research on the z series of cars and some on the GT. but i was wondering which would be a nicer restore.

i understand the Z is way more powerfull as the GT has a crappy 4cyl 96hp engine, but i cant hurt to be interested.

Beware, the Opel was sold in Europe for some time, and those DOHC latemodel engines will push the GT body well into the speedranges that would scare many people.

Especially with that short wheelbase!

The Opel GT was the car referred to as 'The Poor-Man's Corvette' and also as "Baby Vette".

Incidentally, V8 swaps in Opels are not as uncommon as you might think, you just put it in from underneath...

If you think Zcars had rust issues your in for an awakening with the baby vette. I dont think Ive seen a solid Opel GT ...OR ANY Opel GTon the road in years! They are great looking cars but knid of small. I prefer the Z.

Anyone know of any solid Opel GTs?

I live in Europe, and Opel GTs are much more common here than in the States. Most of them came with Opel's trusty old CIH engines, which are plentiful (they were used in many models), reliable and easy to modify.