HybridZ

What is your Daily Driver?

JustinOlson

Well I need ideas for a new daily driver as driving my 280z every day is driving me nuts. I fix one thing, and two new things break :)

My budget is up to 6000, but I would be fine spending half that if I could find a decent deal. I'm a college student and work full time. I was thinking of the following:

240sx

SC300

honda civic

bmw z3 (not sure on maintenance cost)

mazda miata

bmw e36 (not sure on maintenance cost)

acura legend coupe

acura cl coupe

subaru impreza

subaru outback

subaru legacy

Anyway, just curious if people have recommendations for what to look at and what to not look at.

Justin

• Replies 126
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I drive a R31 skyline.

3L RB powahhh!!!!!! but no turbs.

It cost me $400, and its mostly reliable. best part is i dont care if it gets damaged, so if something is in the way, like a shopping trolley, i just knock it over.

I have had a lot of cheap daily's, usually i find them through friends Ect, and i generally drive them till the rego runs out, and strip and sell them.

usually the proceeds go to a new shi!!er, but i often get quite a few parts out of them that can be adapted to other projects.

Probably my criteria for a daily would be;

Good on fuel

generally mechanically sound (im a qualified mech, so i can fix a lot easliy)

NOT cop bait.

anything else is a bonus.

one of my disposable cars didnt have a stereo for 8 months, needless to say, i got good at singing to myself (well, i thought so anyway)

Can't go wrong with a Civic especially if you want to keep costs low. As long as the timing belt has been replaced, you usually don't have much to worry about on them. Otherwise I'd say go for the 240sx or Miata. The euro cars will cost a little more for maintenance parts at your local parts store.

93 Sentra B13 SE-R. Used to get 26-28mpg city.

Now with that pulse driving technique I might break 30mpg!